Articles - The Heart, or Valentine's Chakra

Heart Chakra
By Lee Ann Cornell

Pyramid of Enlightenment

Chakra is the Hindu term for spinning wheel of energy. Each of us has seven major chakra centers that are located vertically in front of the spinal column. Within each center is a seat of consciousness that vibrates to the level of the influences that are held there. The root chakra is located at the base of the spine and is referred to as the survival chakra. It controls the feelings of "fight or flight" and houses our feelings of fear. Through this chakra we become grounded to the earth. The sacral chakra is located near the belly. Through this center we express our sexuality and creativity.

The next center is that of the solar plexus. Within this center we express our emotions, power struggles and sensitivity. It houses the feelings or rage, anger and hostility. Within this energy center we deal with issues that threaten our authority and free will.

The heart chakra is located in the middle of the chest and is the center of Love and Harmony. We fall in love and express love through this center. We are not capable of loving anyone else more than we love ourselves. The first key to opening our heart to others is to remove any blocks that may be present in the root, sacral, solar plexus and heart centers. When we open up our hearts and share our love with others the heart centers connect and form cords, or so-called "heart strings." (Arcs of rose-colored light can be seen between the heart centers when people are falling in love.)

As we fall in love the energies move downward into the solar plexus and we develop an emotional bonding. The energy then continues to move downward into the sacral center where issues of sexuality are felt and our final expression of love is felt through the root chakra where we desire to make roots, settle down and develop some type of commitment in a relationship.

The throat chakra is the energy center that deals with expression and communication. Thoughts and feelings connect in this center and are verbalized or creatively expressed. The brow chakra is the center of creativity, visualization, clairvoyance, and dreams. This center helps us dissolve grief and overcome nightmares and we draw closer to our spiritual nature. The work we do with the crown chakra allows us to view things in the future. This center helps us draw closer to God. An ideal relationship is one that blends energies together on a spiritual, mental, emotional and physical level.

It is best to seek out individuals that share our similar or complementary interests, morals, values, ethics, spiritual concepts or belief systems. Love is at its best when all the Chakras flow together in harmony starting at the crown down to the root. To quote Shirley MacLaine in the book "Going Within," the Eastern mystics say we define our personalities through the heart of Chakra, which they believe is the core of the soul.” The soul manufactures the "forever hormone", which when experienced keeps us feeling forever young through love.

Pyramid of Enlightenment